Skip to content

Core team

Derbyshire CPRE’s dedicated core team and committee includes experience in local business and government, education, landscape design, development planning and marketing.

John Ydlibi (Chair)
Chartered accountant, recently retired, having worked for Rolls-Royce Civil Aerospace for 30 years. John loves the countryside and is a member of the RSPB, Derbyshire Wildlife Trust and the National Trust.

Andrea Watwood (Vice Chair)
A biomedical scientist by background Andrea then moved into governance and project management roles in the health and education sectors. Andrea loves being out in the countryside and is passionate about preserving access to the countryside for all to enjoy.

Karen Bradley (Secretary)
Lifelong banker then maths teacher, Karen is now retired and enjoys walking her dog and wildlife-watching. She discovered close alignment with CPRE values by working in a local group challenging a major planning application in nearby countryside.

Adrian Watts (Treasurer)
A member of CPRE for many years and treasurer for Derbyshire since 1992, with a keen interest in protecting areas for wildlife and preserving Greenbelt.

Tim Silvester
Head of the Royal School for the Deaf in Derby until his retirement, Tim loves hill walking and all aspects of the countryside.

David Matthews
An interest in planning and traditional building skills led David to undertake associated courses at both Sheffield Hallam and Bournemouth University respectively. He has undertaken a number of practical environmental/conservation tasks in the past as a volunteer within various rural settings. His own perspectives are in close harmony with the objectives and values of CPRE.

Martin Houldsworth
Fortunate to have retired early following nearly 40 years in the construction then aerospace industries, Martin is a keen motorhomer and spends a lot of his time walking in the countryside, both in the UK and overseas. He is enthusiastic about ensuring our heritage and rural environment is protected for others to enjoy.

Sarah Nadelman
Sarah is our Assistant Planning Volunteer for the Derbyshire Dales. She has lived in Derbyshire for many years and enjoys walking in the countryside.

Ryan Morgan
Services Manager for a national benevolent charity with experience in charity operations and strategy. Ryan is passionate about the local countryside and CPRE’s values, and spends his free time walking his two spaniels in nature or in his garden with his chickens.

Emily Peacock
Emily is our Social Media and Communications Volunteer. Emily is a recent UoN English graduate who loves writing for the environment. She believes that awareness and accessibility to information can inspire people to support good causes, much like CPRE Derbyshire. Emily has always had the Peak District on her doorstep; she enjoys getting outdoors and appreciating what local communities do to protect the countryside.

Prutha Karanjekar
Prutha is our Assistant Planning Volunteer for North East Derbyshire. She is a recent University of Sheffield Urban Planning and Design graduate who loves working in the countryside and environment. Prutha believes that collective efforts can protect and help the countryside grow. While studying at Sheffield, she enjoyed visiting and exploring ways to conserve the beautiful landscapes of the Lake District and Peak District.